Advanced Diploma in Computer Science

Saegis Campus

Description of Course

The Advanced Diploma in Computer Science (SCQF level 8) covers a wide variety of skills including: designing and maintaining a website, carrying out technical support, developing small-scale stand-alone and mobile applications, and demonstrating the recognised ‘soft skills’ required to work in small groups.
Progression: HNDs can provide progression to degree-level study. The Advanced Diploma in Computer Science allows direct entry to most third year degree programmes.

Entry Requirements

GCE Advance Level – Passes for 2 subjects in one attempt or
Successful completion of Saegis Foundation Programme or
an equivalent qualification approved by the Saegis Governing Council Academic subcommittee and
Passes for Mathematics and English Language in G.C.E Ordinary level Examination.

Course Content

  1. Computer Systems Fundamentals
  2. Mathematics for Computing 1
  3. Developing Software: Introduction
  4. Computer Networking: Fundamentals
  5. Database Design Fundamentals
  6. Professionalism and Ethics in Computing
  7. SQL: Introduction
  8. Software Development: Developing Websites for Multi platform use
  9. Troubleshooting Computer Problems
  10. Computing: Graded Unit 1
  11. Team Working in Computing
  12. Relational Database Management Systems
  13. Software Development: OOP
  14. Cloud Computing
  15. Network Technology and Data Communication
  16. Managing a Web Server
  17. Developing Mobile Web Based Applications: An Introduction
  18. Project Management for IT
  19. E-Commerce: Publishing Websites
  20. Ethical Hacking Fundamentals
  21. Preparing to Start a Business
  22. Computer Science: Graded Unit 2

Basic Info

  • : 2 YEARS
  • : N/A
  • : pending
  • : Part time
  • : Higher Diploma
  • : N/A

Branch Info.

  • :Saegis Campus
  • : Head Branch
  • :135, S. De. S. Jayasinghe Mawatha, Nugegoda
  • :+94 11 7 430000 , +94 77 0430000


Related Courses (5)

Leave a Reply